Health & Social Care

Key Stage 4   |    Key Stage 5

Key Stage 4

Course Overview

The Pearson BTEC Level 1/ 2 Tech award has replaced the previous GCSE award. The qualification has three components that focus on the assessment of the knowledge, understanding and skills that are the foundations for working in the Health and Social Care sectors. The three components are strongly related and are taught over a period of two years.


Course Title:

Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care

View Specification

Exam Board:


Course Code:

Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care



Learners will develop knowledge and understanding of:

  • Human growth and development across the life stages
  • How people deal with major life events
  • Different types of health and social care services
  • Barriers to accessing services and how they may be overcome
  • Care values and how they are applied
  • Factos that affect health and well-being
  • Interpreting health indicators
  • Person-centred health and wellbeing improvement plans

Assessment Criteria

Component 1
Human Lifespan Development
Internally assessed assignments
Component 2
Health and Social Care Services and Values
Internally assessed assignments
Component 3
Health and Wellbeing
Externally assessed synoptic task

Where next?

The BTEC Technical Award qualification prepare learners for progression onto the Level 3 BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care.

These courses are particularly suited to students who are contemplating a career in the health or social care sectors which pay such a key role in our society and account for nearly 1in 10 of all paid jobs in the U.K

If you have any questions or queries relating to the H&S curriculum please email for more information.