Learning Together For The Future

Key Stage 5

Exam Board: Edexcel

Contact: Mrs L. Bailey

Course Overview

Year 12 - BTEC National Certificate in Health & Social Care

Year 13 - BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health & Social Care

The BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care will provide you with an in-depth knowledge of the Health and Social Care sector and the vocational skills required to work within it. The course is made up of four units; the certificate being completed in the first year with the extended certificate completed by the end of the second year. In addition to developing a strong core base of knowledge, students will learn to take responsibility for their own learning; they will develop interpersonal and practical skills; they will learn to efficiently manage their time, being able to work to a brief with set deadlines, and they will experience working effectively within a team.

Entry Requirements:

5 GCSES 4-9 or A*-C to include Maths and English Lang or Lit Grade 5

Where can Health and Social take me?

The BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care can lead on to a range of HE courses if studied alongside relevant A levels such as Nursing, Social Work, Midwifery or Childhood studies. It can also lead straight into employment or apprenticeships in the Health or Social Care sectors.


Certificate ASSESSMENT
Unit 1 - Human life span development Written exam
Unit 5 - Meeting Individual Care needs & Support Internal assessment
Extended Certificate ASSESSMENT
Unit 2 - Working in Health & Social Care Written exam
Unit 5 - (Optional) Physiological disorders and their care Internal Assessment