Learning Together For The Future

Key Stage 4

Students opt to follow a personalised GCSE curriculum with a compulsory core comprising GCSEs in English Language and Literature, Mathematics, Science and Humanities. They will also receive tuition in Physical Education, Religious Education and Personal Development & Citizenship.

The English Baccalaureate

The English Baccalaureate is designed to increase the number of children taking a core curriculum comprising traditional academic subjects. A student gains the English Baccalaureate if they achieve a GCSE Grade C or above in all of the qualifications stated below:

  • English;
  • Mathematics;
  • Two or more Sciences;
  • Humanities: either Geography or History;
  • A Modern Foreign Language.

The subjects that make up The English Baccalaureate are highly regarded by universities and employers. Students who succeed in them go on to higher levels of attainment at A Level. However, while most students will be able to access and succeed in this curriculum – it will clearly not be suitable for everyone. Therefore, the guiding principles of our Options process are:

  • To provide a broad and balanced curriculum with a strong academic core within the statutory guidelines;
  • To ensure that everyone has access to all the curriculum areas;
  • To meet the learning needs of individuals;
  • To provide suitable vocational choices.

In addition to the core curriculum, students can choose to study up to four subjects from across the curriculum including in Creative Arts & PE, Modern Foreign Languages, Technology, Business, Computing and Vocational courses. Typically, students will complete 9-11 GCSEs in total depending on their chosen options.

In Year 11 all students will be able to follow an enrichment curriculum on Wednesday afternoons where they can experience vocational, work experience, enterprise and outdoor activities designed to prepare them for life after school. Some of these courses lead to additional GCSE level qualifications.